Serving students from Preschool through Grade 8 | Burlington, Vermont

News: Class of 2022 Awards Ceremony

June 10, 2022

Mater Christi School proudly announces the recipients of our Class of 2022 Awards. Please join us in celebrating our students!

The Instrumental Music Achievement Award

Lily Collins
Miles McCabe
This award is presented to graduating 8th grade band members.  The recipient must maintain a high degree of proficiency with an instrument through practice and rehearsal. The recipient must demonstrate the highest levels of dedication, loyalty, character, and discipline to the band program while achieving high musical standards required of middle school instrumental music.

The Vocal Music Achievement Award
Liam Murray
This award is presented to students who have shown a great deal of talent in these areas and willingly share their gift of music with others.

Liam Murray

The Distinguished Drama Award
Sarah Biggins
Skylar Roberge
The Drama Award recognizes 8th grade students who have exhibited outstanding dedication, passion, and performances in Mater Christi School theatrical productions.


The Frederick M. Peyser Award and Art Achievement Awards
Taylor Tritt
The recipient of the Frederick M. Peyser Award displayed not only creative ability and potential in a variety of art mediums but has, more importantly, exhibited a positive attitude and work ethic in the classroom.

Taylor Tritt

The D.A.R. Good Citizenship Award
Amelia Farley
The Daughters of the American Revolution Good Citizenship Award is presented to an 8th grade student who has managed to balance well his or her spiritual, academic, sports and family lives. He/she has exhibited the qualities on which the Society of the D.A.R. is based: Honor, Service, Courage, Leadership, and Patriotism.

Amelia Farley

John J. Hartnett Award
Kate Larkin   
Liam Murray     
The Hartnett Award is given annually to one or two students who exhibit outstanding performance in the areas of academics, school spirit, and sports. The plaque commemorating this award is on display in the lobby of the middle school.

The Joseph McNeil Memorial Award
Miles Kenny
Izzy Lacy  
The Joseph McNeil Memorial Award is given to students who have shown team spirit and performed outstandingly in Mater Christi School’s sports programs. These students consistently demonstrate a love and respect for sporting during physical education classes and in extracurricular activities. The recipients’ names are engraved on a plaque which is permanently displayed in the middle school lobby and they receive a certificate of this accomplishment.

The Ryan Collins Memorial Award
Bret Stoneman
The Ryan Collins Memorial fund was established to acknowledge deserving youth in their love of science. Designed to honor Ryan’s independent adventurous spirit, the fund was established to pay tribute to a young man who was a science enthusiast at Mater Christi School. The fund enables the school to give an award each year to a graduating student from Mater Christi in recognition of his or her interest in the field of science.

The Emily Lyman Creative Writing Award
Whitney Williams
The Emily Lyman Creative Writing Award was established by the Lyman Family in memory of Emily who died in 2012 as she began her freshman year in high school. Emily attended Mater Christi School throughout her elementary years.

Whitney Williams

The Kristen Lauré Charlebois Memorial Literacy Award
Ben Edwards
Sarah Platzer
This award was instituted in memory of Kristen Charlebois who attended Mater Christi School throughout her elementary education years and who died while a sophomore at Rice High School. She is remembered for many wonderful qualities and talents including her great love of reading. Mater Christi School gives the Kristen Lauren Charlebois Award to one or two eighth graders who exhibit the same devotion to reading. The students’ names are engraved on the plaque which is displayed in the school lobby.


Jhamille Renton Award
Jack Bryan
Maggie Robinson
The Jhamille Renton plaque hangs permanently in the school lobby and small copies are given to the recipients. Recipients of this award exhibit Jhamille’s qualities of loving others, especially small children, have a ready smile, are hope-filled, and love life. Jhamille died while in 8th grade at Mater Christi in 1991.

The President’s Award for Educational Excellence
Jake Broe
Katherine Freeman
Alayna Havreluk
Miles Kenny
Kate Larkin
Maggie Robinson
Zaki Steinberg
Bret Stoneman
This award recognizes academic excellence in the classroom.  To be eligible, students must have maintained a Grade Point Average of 95 or higher in all academic classes from Grade 6-Trimester 2 of Grade 8, and, on standardized tests, scored in the 85th percentile or higher in reading and/or math in Grade 7.

The President’s Award for Educational Achievement
Mary Biggins
Sophia Chan
Sean Early
Amelia Farley
Emerson Knudsen
Oliver Quong
Lily Sheppard
Jack Tomlinson
Nolan Worgan
This award recognizes students that show outstanding educational growth, improvement, commitment, or intellectual development in their academic subjects.

The Mater Christi School Principal’s Award
Jack Bryan
Kate Larkin
The Mater Christi Principal’s Award is presented to students who demonstrate an understanding of the Mercy tradition through their constant respect for everyone both within the Mater Christi School community and also in the wider community.

The Catherine McAuley Award
Jake Broe
Liza Carney 
This award is presented by the Vermont Sisters of Mercy. The Sisters of Mercy celebrated their 125 years in the State of Vermont in 2000. On that occasion, they chose to inaugurate the Catherine McAuley Award. The award is in the form of a large plaque on which are engraved the names of the recipients. The recipients are 8th graders who exemplify Catherine McAuley’s ability to recognize the ways in which God gifted her and her courage and generosity in using these gifts for others.


More Pictures