News: Class of 2023 Awards Ceremony

June 13, 2023

Mater Christi School proudly announces the recipients of our Class of 2023 Awards. Please join us in celebrating our students!

Cecilia Wright and Celeste H.

The Instrumental Music Achievement Award
Celeste H.
Cecilia Wright
This award is presented to graduating 8th grade band members.  The recipient must maintain a high degree of proficiency with an instrument through practice and rehearsal. The recipient must demonstrate the highest levels of dedication, loyalty, character, and discipline to the band program while achieving high musical standards required of middle school instrumental music.



Tiegan Lambert, Carsten Howrigan, and Lila Hershey

The Vocal Music Achievement Award
Lila Hershey
Carsten Howrigan
Tiegan Lambert
This award is presented to students who have shown a great deal of talent in these areas and willingly share their gift of music with others.

Owen Mancini and Whitney Butnor





The Distinguished Drama Award
Whitney Butnor
Owen Mancini
The Drama Award recognizes 8th grade students who have exhibited outstanding dedication, passion, and performances in Mater Christi School theatrical productions.




William Cunningham and Celeste H. William Cunningham

The Frederick M. Peyser Award and Art Achievement Awards
Whitney Butnor
Owen Mancini
The recipient of the Frederick M. Peyser Award displayed not only creative ability and potential in a variety of art mediums but has, more importantly, exhibited a positive attitude and work ethic in the classroom.

Ziva Baker




The D.A.R. Good Citizenship Award
Ziva Baker
The Daughters of the American Revolution Good Citizenship Award is presented to an 8th grade student who has managed to balance well his or her spiritual, academic, sports and family lives. He/she has exhibited the qualities on which the Society of the D.A.R. is based: Honor, Service, Courage, Leadership, and Patriotism.




Moses Pial and Megan Marroquin

John J. Hartnett Award
Megan Marroquin
Moses Pial
The Hartnett Award is given annually to one or two students who exhibit outstanding performance in the areas of academics, school spirit, and sports. The plaque commemorating this award is on display in the lobby of the middle school.

Elan Barsky and Isabella Walsh




The Joseph McNeil Memorial Award
Elan Barsky
Isabella Walsh
The Joseph McNeil Memorial Award is given to students who have shown team spirit and performed outstandingly in Mater Christi School’s sports programs. These students consistently demonstrate a love and respect for sporting during physical education classes and in extracurricular activities. The recipients’ names are engraved on a plaque which is permanently displayed in the middle school lobby and they receive a certificate of this accomplishment.


Elijah Elliot

The Ryan Collins Memorial Award
Elijah Elliott
The Ryan Collins Memorial fund was established to acknowledge deserving youth in their love of science. Designed to honor Ryan’s independent adventurous spirit, the fund was established to pay tribute to a young man who was a science enthusiast at Mater Christi School. The fund enables the school to give an award each year to a graduating student from Mater Christi in recognition of his or her interest in the field of science.

Zade Royce



The Emily Lyman Creative Writing Award
Zade Royce
The Emily Lyman Creative Writing Award was established by the Lyman Family in memory of Emily who died in 2012 as she began her freshman year in high school. Emily attended Mater Christi School throughout her elementary years.




Carsten Howrigan

The Kristen Lauré Charlebois Memorial Literacy Award
Carsten Howrign
The award was instituted in memory of Kristen Charlebois who attended Mater Christi School throughout her elementary education years and who died while a sophomore at Rice High School. She is remembered for many wonderful qualities and talents including her great love of reading. Mater Christi School gives the Kristen Lauren Charlebois Award to one or two eighth graders who exhibit the same devotion to reading. The students’ names are engraved on the plaque which is displayed in the school lobby.

Treyson Kelly and Alexis Menard-O’Neil


Jhamille Renton Award
Treyson Kelley
Alexis Menard-O’Neil
The Jhamille Renton plaque hangs permanently in the school lobby and small copies are given to the recipients. Recipients of this award exhibit Jhamille’s qualities of loving others, especially small children, have a ready smile, are hope-filled, and love life. Jhamille died while in 8th grade at Mater Christi in 1991.




Ziva Baker and Celeste H.

The President’s Award for Educational Excellence
Ziva Baker
Celeste H.
This award recognizes academic excellence in the classroom.  To be eligible, students must have maintained a Grade Point Average of 95 or higher in all academic classes from Grade 6-Trimester 2 of Grade 8, and, on standardized tests, scored in the 85th percentile or higher in reading and/or math in Grade 7.

Vincent Lanzetta, Elan Barsky, Treyson Kelley, Isabella Walsh, and Jack Webb




The President’s Award for Educational Achievement
Elan Barsky
Treyson Kelley
Vincent Lanzetta
Isabella Walsh
Jack Webb
This award recognizes students that show outstanding educational growth, improvement, commitment, or intellectual development in their academic subjects.




Jack Griffin

The Mater Christi School Principal’s Award
Jack Griffin
The Mater Christi Principal’s Award is presented to students who demonstrate an understanding of the Mercy tradition through their constant respect for everyone both within the Mater Christi School community and also in the wider community.




Owen Mancini

The Catherine McAuley Award
Owen Mancini
This award is presented by the Vermont Sisters of Mercy. The Sisters of Mercy celebrated their 125 years in the State of Vermont in 2000. On that occasion, they chose to inaugurate the Catherine McAuley Award. The award is in the form of a large plaque on which are engraved the names of the recipients. The recipients are 8th graders who exemplify Catherine McAuley’s ability to recognize the ways in which God gifted her and her courage and generosity in using these gifts for others.


More pictures