2015 Mater Christi School Award Recipients

June 11, 2015

Class History

Class History read by Phoebe Weller, Ethan Treadwell and Curtis Plante

On June 2, the Class of 2015, along with their families and fellow middle school students, gathered for Recognition Day. The celebration began with a reading of their class history, a special tribute for each graduate by their middle school teachers, an award ceremony, and concluded with a slide show reflection by Mrs. Sarah Lavoie.

The following Mater Christi School 8th Graders achieved 98% or higher in their classes during the 2014-2015 academic year. Congratulations to the following students for their outstanding academic performance:

Mathematics: Curtis Plante and Gunho Yoon
Science: Elisabeth Harrington and Curtis Plante
Literature: Abigail Jacunski, Patrick Flaherty, Curtis Plante, Phoebe Weller, and Ludovica Palmieri
English: Patrick Flaherty, Abigail Jacunski, Curtis Plante, Christian Tarr, and Phoebe Weller
Social Studies: Patrick Flaherty, Abigail Jacunski, Curtis Plante, Ethan Treadwell, and Nigel Woodroffe
Religion: Abigail Jacunski, Patrick Flaherty, Ludovica Palmieri, Curtis Plante, and Phoebe Weller
French: Lucienne Miquel and Curtis Plante

2015 Mater Christi School Award Recipients

Prinicpal's Award

Mr. Fontana presenting Curtis Plante with the Principal’s Award

The Mater Christi Principal’s Award
Curtis Plante

The Mater Christi Principal’s Award is presented to students who demonstrate an understanding of the Mercy tradition through their constant respect for everyone both within the Mater Christi School community and also in the wider community.

The Catherine McAuley Award
Ludovica Palmieri

This award is presented by the Vermont Sisters of Mercy. The Sisters of Mercy celebrated their 125 years in the State of Vermont in 2000. On that occasion, they chose to inaugurate the Catherine McAuley Award. The award is in the form of a large plaque on which are engraved the names of the recipients. The recipients are 8th graders who exemplify Catherine McAuley’s ability to recognize ways in which God gifted her and her courage and generosity in using these gifts for others.

Award Ceremony

Mr. Fontana presenting Hayden Fitzgerald with the President’s Award for Educational Achievement

The President’s Award for Educational Achievement
Tre` Diemer
Patrick Flaherty
Elisabeth Harrington
Abigail Jacunski
Lucienne Miquel
Curtis Plante
Isabel Tousignant
Patrick Tousignant
Ethan Treadwell
Phoebe Weller

Criteria for this award include scoring in the 85th percentile in reading or mathematics on a standardized test and a grade point average of 90 or higher from grade 4 through the second trimester of 8th grade.

The President’s Award for Educational Achievement
Hayden Fitzgerald

The purpose of this award is to recognize students who show understanding, educational growth, improvement, commitment or intellectual development in their academic subjects but do not meet the criteria for the President’s Award for Educational Excellence. It is meant to encourage and reward students who work hard and give their best efforts in school.

The D.A.R. Good Citizenship Award
Phoebe Weller

The Daughters of the American Revolution Good Citizenship Award is presented to an 8th grader who has managed to balance well his or her spiritual, academic, sports and family lives. He/she has exhibited the qualities on which the Society of the D.A.R. is based: Honor, Service, Courage, Leadership and Patriotism.

Morgan Cieslack after receiving the Jhamille Renton Award

Morgan Cieslack after receiving the Jhamille Renton Award

Jhamille Renton Award
Morgan Cieslak

The Jhamille Renton plaque hangs permanently in the school lobby and small copies are given to the recipients. Recipients of this award exhibit Jhamille’s qualities of loving others, especially small children, have a ready smile, are hope-filled, and love life. Jhamille died while in 8th grade at Mater Christi in 1991.

The Frederick M. Peyser Award and Art Achievement Awards
Patrick Flaherty

The recipient of the Frederick M. Peyser Award displayed not only creative ability and potential in a variety of art mediums but has more importantly, exhibited a positive attitude and work ethic in the classroom.

John J. Hartnett Award
Tre Diemer

The Hartnett Award is given annually to one or two students who exhibit outstanding performance in the areas of academics, school spirit and sports. The plaque commemorating this award is on display in the lobby of the middle school.

The Joseph McNeil Memorial Award
Davis Lavoie

The Joseph McNeil Memorial Award is given to students who have shown team spirit and performed outstandingly in Mater Christi School’s sports programs. These students consistently demonstrate a love and respect for sporting during physical education classes and in extracurricular activities. The recipients’ names are engraved on a plaque which is permanently displayed in the middle school lobby and they receive a certificate of this accomplishment.

Award Ceremony

Mr. Pendergrass presenting Lucienne Miquel with the Ryan Collins Memorial Award

The Kristen Lauré Charlebois Memorial Literacy Award
Abigail Jacunski

This award was instituted in memory of Kristen Charlebois who attended Mater Christi School throughout her elementary education years and who died while a sophomore at Rice High School. She is remembered for many wonderful qualities and talents including her great love of reading.

Mater Christi’s head librarian gives the Kristen Laure Charlebois Award to one or two eighth graders who exhibit the same devotion to reading. The students’ names are engraved on the plaque which is displayed in the school lobby.

The Ryan Collins Memorial Award
Lucienne Miquel

The Ryan Collins Memorial fund was established to acknowledge deserving youth in their love of science. Designed to honor Ryan’s independent adventurous spirit, the fund was established to pay tribute to a young man who was a science enthusiast at Mater Christi School. The fund enables the school to give an award each year to a graduating student from Mater Christi in recognition of his or her interest in the field of science.

Award Ceremony

Mr. Welsch presenting Ethan Treadwell with the Emily Lyman Creative Writing Award

The Emily Lyman Creative Writing Award
Ethan Treadwell

The Emily Lyman Creative Writing Award was established by the Lyman Family in memory of Emily who died in 2012 as she began her freshman year in high school. Emily attended Mater Christi School throughout her elementary years.

Band Award
Davis Lavoie
Alexander Beauregard

The Band Award recognizes 8th grade students who have shown leadership, talent and remarkable cooperation throughout the years. The Band Award hangs on a plaque in the school lobby.

Student Council Award
Nigel Woodroffe
Tre Diemer – Recognized for 5 years of service

The Student Council Award recognizes eighth grade students who have been an active and engaged leader in the Student Council and school.

For more photos, visit our smugmug page: http://materchristischool.smugmug.com/Events/Recognition-Class-of-2015/i-FzKf2ZH

Congratulations to the Class of 2015!